//
you're reading...
Web tools

Can Evernote compete with Google Notebook or Zoho Notebook?

I discovered Evernote, the client version, back in 2006, and have been using it for about a year or so until it kept asking me at every start if I wanted to buy the full version. I then switched to Google Notebook, together with its Firefox addon.

Now a few weeks ago, I learned through Benoit Descary, that Evernote was launching its version 3.0. And not only was it a new version, but the whole concept had been revamped.

Evernote was now both a client software, but also, and more importantly, a web based one as well.

Benoit could provide me with an invite code, so I decided to have a look. But not only to Evernote, indeed a few people on Benoit’s blog had hinted that Zoho Notebook was a pretty good tool as well.

So I registered to both Evernote and Zoho.

I meant to make a full comparison between the three solutions, but quite frankly, with the baby plus two major projects going on at the office, I couldn’t make it.

Nevertheless, here are some thoughts out of the top of my head:

– Evernote, I have not been able to launch the client version, apparently due to a proxy issue eventhough I have no proxy problem at all. It is apparently a know issue and Evernote is working on it

– As far as I could tell, the Evernote web version does not support all the functionalities of the client one (but again, I could not really dwelve into it as I should have)

– Zoho looks really promising, but I encountered a few bug, principally while trying to save stuff, which is in my opinion a serious problem! ;o)

– Google Notebook lacks a sexy user interface, but other than that, I don’t hold much grieves against it …

Anyway, the race is on, and if you’d like to join me, I have 8 invitation codes to share … If you’re interested, leave me your email address (if I don’t have it already) in the comments.

Only, give me a few days to send you the invite as I will be on a business trip to Milano for the newt 2 days …

About barthox

I'm 38, married, 2 sons. We live in Belgium. http://about.me/barthox

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Can Evernote compete with Google Notebook or Zoho Notebook?

  1. Je suis preneur si tu as une invitation !
    Merci

    Posted by dzigue | 15 April, 2008, 10:36 pm
  2. Salut,

    Je suis super preneur si tu as encore une invitaiton…
    Merci.

    Posted by Phil | 15 April, 2008, 11:05 pm
  3. If you have any invitation left .. here’s my mailbox.
    Best regards.

    Posted by André | 16 April, 2008, 12:53 am
  4. Hello!
    si il te reste une invit’, je suis bien intéressé!

    Posted by romantchou | 16 April, 2008, 8:33 am
  5. Bonjour,
    si tu as encore une invitation pour Evernotes, ça m’intéresse !
    Merci par avance 🙂

    Posted by Fx | 16 April, 2008, 10:20 am
  6. Bonjour,

    S’il te reste une invitation je suis preneur …
    Merci !

    misterangus@gmail.com

    Posted by Misterangus | 16 April, 2008, 12:24 pm
  7. Evernote looks very promising, so if you can spare me an invite, I’m up for it :). Thanks

    Posted by Fred_G | 16 April, 2008, 12:28 pm
  8. je vous envoie ça des que je peu Will send asap.

    Posted by barthox | 16 April, 2008, 9:39 pm
  9. Bonjour,

    S’il te reste une invitation je suis preneur …
    Merci d’avance !

    Posted by valparaiso | 18 April, 2008, 3:01 pm
